Sleeping Habits

An article from the Huffington Post called, “Changing Bad Sleep Habits” focuses on the things to change to better your sleeping habits. Getting enough sleep is important to stay healthy. The article mentions habits that affect your quality of sleep.

Exercising before bed affects your sleep. Although exercising is good for you, working out before bed can act as a stimulant which makes it harder for you to fall asleep at night.

Using your cellphone before you fall asleep keeps you awake longer. The blue light in cellphones, tablets and televisions keep you from falling asleep.

bigstock-Man-comfortably-sleeping-in-hi-15694625.jpg

You should avoid using your electronic devices the hour before you want to go to bed.

I am trying new ways to help me fall asleep at night such as not using my cellphone late at night, avoiding snac

king at night and getting used to a schedule.

Drinking before you go to sleep is commonly known as a “night cap”. Drinking alcohol before you sleep might help to fall asleep but research shows it disrupts your slumber.

I have always struggled with my sleeping habits since I was in high school. For example, my physician told my mother to give me Benadryl every night to help me fall asleep. My mother wasn’t very happy with her suggestion. I wake up in the middle of the night many times and find it difficult to fall asleep at night.

Leave a Reply

