Breakfast: Not the most important meal of the day

breakfast-juice-fruit-cereal-bowl
Nutrition Secrets

Everyone has heard the saying “breakfast is the most important meal of the day.” Breakfast cereal commercials say that skipping breakfast doesn’t help you lose weight, it makes you gain weight.

I knew that always seemed odd to me because how do you gain weight for missing a meal. According to an article for Greatist.com, two studies have found that there is no direct impact on weight loss.

The studies showed two groups of people: one group ate breakfast and the other group did not. The results were clear that there is no direct correlation to weight loss for breakfast eaters and breakfast skippers.

There is not just one meal that is the most important. According to the article, Why Breakfast is Not the Most Important Meal of the Day, “Believing that one meal is the foundation of success can be detrimental to your healthy-living goals.”

Focusing on one meal creates a mental block. For example, if you skip breakfast the rest of the day you convince yourself that your fat loss will be slowed, and you should eat more for the next meal, but that isn’t how it should work.

I personally have weird eating habits. I eat at strange times because of my work and school schedule. My first meal is typically a bagel with some water around 12 or 1:30 and then the next meal that I have is for dinner. Since I have afternoon classes, I don’t eat a breakfast because usually I am still sleeping at that time. I have been able to lose weight even though I don’t have the typical eating habits.

The bottom line is that you know your own body. If you think it is important for you to eat three solid meals a day, eat your breakfast, lunch and dinner.

If you eat six meals a day or you just eat when you are hungry and need the energy, that is okay. Your body is unique and so is the diet that is right for you.

 

Leave a Reply

