Importance of Health and Fitness

In an article written for Health Status, the term fitness refers to a person’s mental state of mind as well as being physically fit. In order to function optimally a person needs to be mentally fit and physically fit.

Being physically fit is important because people who are physically fit are  healthier and they are able to maintain their most optimum weight, and are also not prone to cardiac and other health problems.  Being physically fit helps a person maintain a relaxed state of mind.

According to an article written for Fit Day more than 60% of Americans do not get the recommended daily amount of physical fitness. As you get older, regular exercise and a proper diet becomes more important. Adulthood is the ideal time to maintain your weight, build strong bones and prevent chronic health problems.

I believe the key to being both physically and mentally fit is doing everything in moderation. Many people try to cram a weeks worth of workouts into one night and over work their body.

Also, people try diets that claim its possible to lose 20lbs in one week! Starting with an intense workout the first day can create injuries and setbacks. In order to be successful it is important create logical goals.

Also, try to avoid junk foods,  and fizzy drinks.  As well as avoiding eating poorly, it is necessary to quit bad habits such as excessively drinking alcohol and smoking.

I decided I wanted to live a more healthy life after my first semester of my sophomore year in college had ended. I realized I gained weight and I was not as physically or mentally fit as I used to be.

Growing up I was always active, however after an injury last winter, I was not able to active for a long period of time. My goal is to be the best person I can be, both physically and mentally. Living a healthier lifestyle has already had a positive impact on my life.

Leave a Reply

